AHRC Arts and Humanities Research Council
ALT Association for Learning and Teaching
APL Assessment of prior experiential learning
APT&C administrative, professional, technical and clerical
AUDE Association of University Directors of Estates
AUT Association of University Teachers
BBSRC Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council
BTEC Business and Technology Education Council
CAFAS Campaign for Academic Freedom and Standards
CAT credit accumulation and transfer
CBI Confederation of British Industry
CDL Career Development Loans
CIHE Council for Industry in Higher Education
C&IT Communications and Information Technology
CNAA Council for National Academic Awards
CPD Continuing Professional Development
CRE Commission for Racial Equality
CRQ Centre for Research into Quality
CST Council on Science and Technology
CTI Computers in Teaching Initiative
CUC Committee of University Chairmen
CVCP Committee of Vice-Chancellors and Principals
DENI Department of Education for Northern Ireland
DfEE Department for Education and Employment
DSA Disabled Students Allowance
DTI Department of Trade and Industry
EC European Community
e-Lib Electronic Libraries Project
EOC Equal Opportunities Commission
ERDF European Regional Development Fund
ESRC Economic and Social Research Council
EU European Union
FE further education
FEFC Further Education Funding Council
FTE full-time equivalent
GCE General Certificate of Education
GDP Gross Domestic Product
GNVQ General National Vocational Qualification
GTC General Teaching Council
HE higher education
HECS Higher Education Contribution Scheme (Australia)
HEFCE Higher Education Funding Council for England
HEFCW Higher Education Funding Council for Wales
HEQC Higher Education Quality Council
HERDF Higher Education Regional Development Fund
HESA Higher Education Statistics Agency
HMSO Her Majesty’s Stationery Office
HN Higher National
HNC Higher National Certificate
HND Higher National Diploma
HRB Humanities Research Board
IBSS International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
IER Institute for Employment Research
IES Institute for Employment Studies
IFS Institute for Fiscal Studies
IIP Investors in People
ILAs Individual lifelong learning accounts
IPDF Industrial Partnership Development Fund
IPR Intellectual Property Rights
IROs Integrated Regional Offices (of Government)
ISI Institute of Scientific Information
ITT initial teacher training
JANET Joint Academic Network
JISC Joint Information Systems Committee
JREI Joint Research Equipment Initiative
JSA Jobseeker’s Allowance
LEA Local Education Authority
M Masters
MA Master of Arts
MANs Metropolitan Area Networks
MBA Master of Business Administration
MEd Master of Education
MEng Master of Engineering
Mpharm Master of Pharmacy
MPhil Master of Philosophy
MSc Master of Science
NAO National Audit Office
NAPAG National Academies Policy Advisory Group
NASA North American Space Agency
NATFHE National Association of Teachers in Further and Higher Education
NCDS National Child Development Society
NCVQ National Council for Vocational Qualifications
NDCs Networked Desktop Computers
NHS National Health Service
NIACE National Institute of Adult Continuing Education
NICS National Insurance Contributions Scheme
NIESR National Institute for Economic and Social Research
NUS National Union of Students
NVQ National Vocational Qualification
OECD Organisation of Economic Co-operation and Development
OFSTED Office for Standards in Education
ONS Office for National Statistics
OPCS Office of Population Censuses & Surveys
OST Office of Science and Technology
OU Open University
PEP Personal Equity Plan
PES Public Expenditure Survey
PFI Private Finance Initiative
PGCE Postgraduate Certificate of Education
PhD Doctorate
PSBR Public Sector Borrowing Requirement
PSI Policy Studies Institute
QAA Quality Assurance Agency
QCA Qualifications and Curriculum Agency
R&D research and development
RAE research assessment exercise
RBL Resource based learning
RDAs Regional Development Agencies
RPI Retail Price Index
SAAS Student Awards Agency for Scotland
SACCA Scottish Advisory Committee on Credit and Access
SARTOR Standards and Routes to Registration
SCOP Standing Conference of Principals
SCOTCAT Scottish Credit Accumulation and Transfer Scheme
SCPR Social and Community Planning Research
SEDA Staff and Educational Development Association
SHEFC Scottish Higher Education Funding Council
SLC Student Loans Company
SMEs Small and Medium sized Enterprises
S/NVQ Scottish National Vocational Qualification
SPC Student Portable Computer
SQA Scottish Qualification Authority
SRB Single Regeneration Budget
SSA Student Support Agency
STEP Shell Technology Enterprise Programme
STSS Scottish Teacher's Superannuation Scheme
SVQs Scottish Vocational Qualifications
TCS Teaching Company Scheme
TECs training and enterprise councils
TESSA Tax Exempt Special Savings Account
TLTP Teaching and Learning Technology Programme
TSS Teachers’ Superannuation Scheme
TQA teaching quality assessment
TTA Teacher Training Agency
UCEA Universities and Colleges Employers Association
UCISA Universities and Colleges Information Systems Association
UGC Universities Grants Committee
UK United Kingdom
UNESCO United Nations Economic and Social Co-operation Organisation
UPA Universities Personnel Association
USA United States of America
USS Universities Superanuation Scheme
VAT Value Added Tax
UCoSDA Universities and Colleges Staff Development Agency
www World Wide Web