International Concert Series: Ian Pace
  • Time: 19:30 - 21:30
  • Date: Friday 6 December 2019
  • Location: Clothworkers Centenary Concert Hall, School of Music, University of Leeds
  • Interval:
  • Cost: See details below
  • Type: Concerts and performances
  • Open to: General public
  • Download: Outlook, iCal

A contemporary piano recital by pianist Ian Pace.

Ian Pace – Clothcomposers (world premiere)
Marc Yeats – cold kitchen hill (world premiere)
Alexander Skryabin – Sonata No. 7 for piano , op 64, “White Mass”
Michael Spencer – per me si va nella città dolente
Franz Liszt – Après une lecture de Dante: Fantasia quasi una Sonata

Ian Pace is a pianist of long-established reputation, specialising in the farthest reaches of musical modernism and transcendental virtuosity, as well as a writer and musicologist focusing on issues of performance, music and society and the avant-garde.

He was born in Hartlepool, England in 1968, and studied at Chetham’s School of Music, The Queen’s College, Oxford and, as a Fulbright Scholar, at the Juilliard School in New York.

His main teacher, and a major influence upon his work, was the Hungarian pianist György Sándor, a student of Bartók.

Tickets: £8 – advance | £10 – on the door | Free – students and under 16s

Buy tickets

0113 343 2584