The University of Leeds hosts over 2,000 websites and applications. To test our compliance with the WCAG 2.1 Conformance Level AA Guidelines, we selected a sample of websites and applications by asking these questions:

  • How many people use the website / application, and how often?
  • How important the website / application is to a person’s work or study?
  • Do the websites / applications cover every stage of the student journey, from applying to graduating?
  • Do the websites / applications tested include those used by staff, students, and members of the public?
  • When was the website / application created? Was it created after 23rd September 2018?
  • Is the website / application in use, and can it be accessed online  

We selected 61 applications, and tested a subset of pages (2, 3, or 4) from each application. 

We selected 82 websites. We tested each website’s home page and a subset of pages within each website. 

We also tested 7 mobile applications. 

We tested them against the WCAG 2.1 AA Guidelines, and using three assistive technologies:

  • JAWS Job Access With Speech – a screen reader
  • Dragon Naturally Speaking – voice recognition software
  • ZoomText – a screen reader and magnifier 

We used these tests to make an overall assessment about the University of Leeds’ websites and applications and to prioritise how we make them compliant. We will be sharing more about our plans through our Accessibility Roadmap

Which sites and applications did we test? 

Applications

We tested a range of applications from within the University’s online estate, including student and staff portals, out student information applications, online repositories, training systems, and library services. We have not provided a list here because many of these are not open to the public. If you have a specific question about an application, please contact IT Services

Websites

We tested our main website platform, available at https://www.leeds.ac.uk, and a range of our sites as listed below. 

Disabled Students https://students.leeds.ac.uk/info/1000032/support_for_disabled_students 

Disability Services https://students.leeds.ac.uk/info/10710/disability_services

Arts, Humanities and Cultures https://ahc.leeds.ac.uk/

Biological Sciences https://biologicalsciences.leeds.ac.uk/

Engineering https://engineering.leeds.ac.uk/

School of environment https://environment.leeds.ac.uk/see 

Business https://business.leeds.ac.uk/ 

Courses page https://courses.leeds.ac.uk/ 

Student accommodation https://accommodation.leeds.ac.uk/ 

Physical Sciences https://physicalsciences.leeds.ac.uk/ 

Medicine and health https://medicinehealth.leeds.ac.uk/ 

Social Sciences https://essl.leeds.ac.uk/

Sport http://sports.leeds.ac.uk 

Careers http://careerweb.leeds.ac.uk/ 

For Staff https://www.leeds.ac.uk/forstaff/

People Development https://peopledevelopment.leeds.ac.uk/

HR http://hr.leeds.ac.uk/

Library https://library.leeds.ac.uk/

Alumni https://alumni.leeds.ac.uk/home

Student Education Service https://ses.leeds.ac.uk/

Lifelong learning centre https://www.llc.leeds.ac.uk/

Applications page https://application.leeds.ac.uk/

For Students https://students.leeds.ac.uk/

SiriusWeb www.siriusweb.leeds.ac.uk

Working with Business https://www.leeds.ac.uk/info/3000/working_with_business

Wellbeing https://www.leeds.ac.uk/info/128003/campus_life/10/wellbeing_and_support

Joining University https://www.leeds.ac.uk/info/130117/exchange_and_study_abroad/118/applying

Training and Development http://www.leaptraining.leeds.ac.uk/

Timetabling https://ses.leeds.ac.uk/info/21630/timetabling

The Leeds Partnership https://www.leeds.ac.uk/forstaff/homepage/342/the_partnership

Sustainability https://sustainability.leeds.ac.uk/

Study Abroad https://students.leeds.ac.uk/info/10310/destinations

Student Opportunity and

Enhancement https://students.leeds.ac.uk/#Opportunities

Student Education Conference http://teachingexcellence.leeds.ac.uk/

Secretariat https://www.leeds.ac.uk/secretariat/student_cases.html

Strategy and planning https://www.leeds.ac.uk/stratplan/

Finance https://www.leeds.ac.uk/finance/

Curriculum https://ses.leeds.ac.uk/leedscurriculum 

Conference Booking - Meet in Leeds https://meetinleeds.co.uk 

Communications https://comms.leeds.ac.uk 

Staff counselling and psychological support service http://wsh.leeds.ac.uk/info/134/staff_counselling_and_psychological_support

Staff benefits https://www.leeds.ac.uk/info/114000/jobs/43/staff_benefits

Skills@Library https://library.leeds.ac.uk/info/1401/academic_skills

Security Services (Student) https://students.leeds.ac.uk/info/21504/living_in_the_uk/760/security_services

Reporting a Crime https://www.leeds.ac.uk/estate_services/security/ReportingaCrime.htm

Commercial & Campus Support Services (Security Services) https://commercialcampussupport.leeds.ac.uk/security/?cn-reloaded=1

REF2014 https://ref2014.leeds.ac.uk/

Quality Assurance Team https://ses.leeds.ac.uk/info/21070/quality_assurance

Print and Copy Bureau https://pcb.leeds.ac.uk/

Commercial and Campus support services https://commercialcampussupport.leeds.ac.uk/

Postgraduate Research and Operations https://ses.leeds.ac.uk/info/22226/research_degree_admissions_and_registration/1008/pgr_and_operations-admissions

Postgraduate Degrees (student information) http://www.leeds.ac.uk/info/101000/masters_courses

Personal Tutor for Students https://students.leeds.ac.uk/info/10109/study_support/797/your_personal_tutor

Personal Tutoring http://www.leeds.ac.uk/soe//soe-personal-tutoring.html

New Staff https://peopledevelopment.leeds.ac.uk/services/new-staff/

Open Access Explained https://library.leeds.ac.uk/info/14061/open_access/8/open_access_explained

Occupational Health http://wsh.leeds.ac.uk/OccupationalHealth

New Staff (Manager's Guidance) https://hr.leeds.ac.uk/managers_guidance

Mediation https://equality.leeds.ac.uk/support-and-resources/mediation-2/

Logik https://www.logik.leeds.ac.uk/

Language Centre https://www.leeds.ac.uk/info/130567/language_centre

International Student Office https://students.leeds.ac.uk/info/10500/international_students/877/international_student_office

International Staff Support http://hr.leeds.ac.uk/info/6/support_for_staff/314/support_for_international_colleagues

International Foundation Year https://www.leeds.ac.uk/homepage/34/international_foundation_year

Global Community https://students.leeds.ac.uk/globalcommunity

Facilities Directorate https://facilitiesdirectorate.leeds.ac.uk/

Estate Services https://www.leeds.ac.uk/estate_services/

Equality Policy Unit https://equality.leeds.ac.uk/

Educational Engagement - Admissions Directorate https://ses.leeds.ac.uk/info/22060/about_the_student_education_service/859/admissions_directorate

Digital Education Service https://digitaleducation.leeds.ac.uk/

Delivered food https://gfal.leeds.ac.uk/delivered-food/

Food/catering (Great Food at Leeds) https://gfal.leeds.ac.uk/product-category/breakfast/

Cleaning https://commercialcampussupport.leeds.ac.uk/cleaning-services/

Chaplaincy http://unichaplaincy.org.uk/

Student Counselling Service https://students.leeds.ac.uk/info/100001/counselling_and_wellbeing