Geology of the Lake District


The geology of the Lake District can be separated into four broad groups. Here, we use the groupings The Volcanics, The Limestones, The Sandstones and the Ice Ages, as a starting place for a journey into the detailed geological history of the Lake District. By following the links below you will be able to access differnet levels of information on each of these areas.

The Volcanics
The Limestones
The Sandstones
The Ice Ages


[Ruskin Rocks home] [Introduction to the Project] [Who's who] [History of Musical Stones] [Why do Rocks Ring?] [Geology of the Lake District] [The Ruskin Rocks Instrument] [Links]

Created by Ruskin Rocks Team, August 2010
Last updated: Rebecca Hildyard, 16 August 2010