Corporate Services

Search site



The Secretariat is led by the Deputy Secretary. Its work is organised within five teams - Governance Support, Student Cases, Legal Services, Records Management and Information Governance, and Research Regulatory Compliance. Together, their primary responsibility is assisting the University Secretary in promoting the best standards of corporate governance throughout the institution.


Governance Support:

This team's responsibilities include ensuring that principal decision-making bodies are provided with timely information, analysis and advice. It also oversees the constitutional operation of the University as a whole, by administering:

The team is headed by Catherine Cho (Head of Governance Support) and includes Sou Sit Chung, Rachel De Souza, Ellen Goodison, Cathy O'Neill, Helen Pickersgill, Rachel Prinn, Pally Sandhu, Helena Smith and Dawn Thompson.


Student Cases:

This team is responsible for the administration of the University's procedures in relation to the following:

  • Academic appeals (by taught and research students)
  • The University's Student Complaints Procedure
  • Reports of hate crime, sexual assault and online harassment
  • Allegations of cheating and plagiarism
  • Student discipline cases
  • Student progress cases, including the Fitness to Study procedure
  • Student health and conduct
  • Advice on the regulations for taught programmes of study

View further information about the work of the Student Cases team

The team is led by Rebecca Dearden (Head of Student Cases) and includes Kirsty Curwen (Assistant Head, Academic Cases), Philippa Bell (Assistant Head, Complaints and Conduct), Laura Britten, Cheryl Cox, Katie Engel, Jenny Foggin, Sarah Hills, Anna Morrissey, Christina Papathanasiou and Alison Usher.

Legal Services:

The Legal Services team is headed by the University Solicitor, Adrian Slater, who provides the University with in-house legal advice.

The team also includes Caroline Coulsey, Tracey Crombie, Alex Evans, Kelly Simpson and Mark Warner.


Research Regulatory Compliance:

The Research Regulatory Compliance team is headed by Emma Armstrong and is responsible for the regulatory compliance and quality assurance of clinical research.

 The team includes Louise Harris, Georgina Hough and Jean Uniacke.








Last updated - 21 October 2022 (HJP)

Records Management and Information Governance:

The Records Management and Information Governance team is headed by Alice Temple. The team is responsible for matters relating to data protection, data subject access and Freedom of Information requests, and the University's records management policy.

The team also includes Joseph Heffernan and Rebecca Messenger-Clark.

Other matters:

The Secretariat is also responsible for a number of business planning and outward-facing activities, including:

The Deputy Secretary has overall responsibility for these activities, with support from other members of the Secretariat, including Maxine Brown and Daksha Chavda.