Skip Navigation

Student Preview mode

Student preview mode allows Instructors and Builders to view their module as if they were a real student.

You should only use student preview mode for testing your module content and design. The tool dynamically switches you into a real student account. Your use of Minerva while utilising the test student view must be in compliance with the IT Use of University Computer Systems policy.

Note: Student preview will not work with Turnitin.

Click on the student preview icon at the top right of your module.
Screenshot of the Student Preview tool

Your view will now switch to the student preview mode, indicated by a orange indicator band at the top of the screen.
Screenshot of the Student Preview indicator

When you've finished with student preview mode select the 'Exit Preview' button.

You'll be presented with a number of options:

  • Delete the preview user and all data
  • Keep the preview user and all data
  • Remember this choice

Unless you have a need to preserve any data you've created in Student preview mode (trying out a test, for example), we recommend you select to Delete the preview user and all data and Remember this choice. It is not advisable to create permanent content in the module while using the Student Preview mode.

Screenshot of Student Preview interface

If you want to change how the student preview behaves, you can select the Settings button on the Student Preview Indicator bar. You can set the system to always Delete or Keep the preview user and associated data.