Corporate Services

Search site



The Secretariat is led by David Wardle, Deputy Secretary. Its work is organised within three teams - Governance Support, Legal Affairs and Student Cases. Together, their primary responsibility is assisting the University Secretary in promoting the best standards of corporate governance throughout the institution.

Governance Support:

This team's responsibilities include ensuring that principal decision-making bodies are provided with timely information, analysis and advice. It also oversees the constitutional operation of the University as a whole, by administering:

The team is headed by Melody Mellor (Head of Governance Support), and includes Jenny Foggin, Helena Smith, Rebecca Messenger-Clark, Helen Pickersgill and Dawn Thompson.


Student Cases:

This team is responsible for the administration of the University's procedures in relation to the following:

  • Academic appeals (by taught and research students)
  • Administering the University's Student Complaints Procedure
  • Student progress cases
  • Allegations of cheating and plagiarism
  • Student health and conduct
  • Advice on the regulations for taught programmes of study

View further information about the work of the Student Cases team

The team includes Rebecca Dearden (Head of Student Cases), Catherine Cho, Guy Dixon, Cheryl Cox and Alison Usher.

Legal Affairs:

The Legal Affairs team is headed by the University Solicitor, Adrian Slater, who provides the University with in-house legal advice.

The team also includes Caroline Coulsey, Melanie Steed, and Tracey Crombie.








Last updated - 18.7.2017 (CLLC)

Other Matters:

The Secretariat is also responsible for a number of business planning and outward-facing activities, including:

David Wardle (Deputy Secretary) has overall responsibility for these activities, with support from other members of the Secretariat, including Louise McCunniff and Daksha Chavda.