Corporate Services

Search site





Terms of Reference

In summary, the Council has a commitment to meet the obligations placed on the University as a charity, and as a body in receipt of public funds. It also has a collective responsibility to promote the University's wellbeing and to ensure its sustainability. Its specific responsibilities include:

  • corporate strategy, plans and budgets
  • corporate policy and major business decisions
  • establishing the framework for governance and management
  • monitoring institutional and executive performance

For a full and comprehensive outline of the Council's terms of reference, please refer to its Statement of Primary Responsibilities

Membership 2021-22

Members ex officio

The Chair of Council and Pro-Chancellor (David Gray)
The Vice-Chancellor (Professor Simone Buitendijk)

Four members of Faculties, and two members of the support staff to be appointed by the Council

  • Dr Kendi Guantai
  • Professor Peter Jimack
  • Professor Robert Kelsall
  • Professor Alice O'Grady
  • Simon Thompson
  • Lauren Huxley

The Union Affairs Officer and the Education Officer of Leeds University Union

  • Aysha Burton
  • Megan Hodgkinson

Thirteen members, not being students of the University or members of Faculty, provided that at any time at least four of the fourteen lay members of the Council shall be alumni (as may be defined from time to time under Ordinance) and one shall be a representative of the Clothworkers' Company

  • Ed Anderson
  • Liz Barber
  • Tom Clark
  • Seb Elsworth
  • Helen Grantham
  • Sir Roger Marsh
  • Iain Moffatt
  • Dr Yvette Oade
  • Leyla Okhai
  • Cordelia Rogerson
  • Janet Sheriff
  • Tim Smith


For the current Register of Interests of members of Council, please click here.

To view the pen-portraits of members of the Council, please click here.


Dates of meetings

Meetings of the Council usually take place on Thursdays at 4pm.

    • 30 September 2021
    • 26 November 2021
    • 27 January 2022
    • 31 March 2022
    • 26 May 2022
    • 21 July 2022

    • 29 September 2022
    • 24 November 2022
    • 26 January 2023
    • 30 March 2023
    • 25 May 2023
    • 20 July 2023

    [Away days to be confirmed]

Last edited:6/4/2022 (CLLC)