Please note that the term and semester dates below relates to the general teaching and examination periods at the University. Dates may differ for some programmes of study, especially for postgraduate and Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences programmes. For future University key dates see our almanac.

Academic year 2018 - 2019

Terms

  • Autumn Term
    Monday 1 October 2018 to Friday 14 December 2018
  • Spring Term
    Monday 14 January 2019 to Friday 29 March 2019
  • Summer Term
    Monday 29 April 2019 to Friday 21 June 2019

Semesters*

  • Autumn Semester
    Teaching begins: Monday 1 October 2018
    Teaching ends: Friday 14 December 2018
  • Spring Semester
    Teaching begins: Monday 28 January 2019
    Teaching ends: Friday 10 May 2019

International Welcome Week

  • Monday 17 September 2018 to Sunday 23 September 2018

Introduction week

  • Monday 24 September 2018 to Sunday 30 September 2018

Examinations

  • Autumn semester
    Monday 14 January 2019 to Friday 25 January 2019
  • Spring semester
    Monday 20 May 2019 to Friday 7 June 2019

Dates when the University will be closed

  • 24 December 2018 to 1 January 2019
  • 18 April (University closes at 12.30 pm) to 23 April 2019
  • 6 May 2019
  • 27 to 28 May 2019
  • 26 to 27 August 2019

* Teaching dates apply to most but not all of the University's learning and teaching provision.