Please note that the term and semester dates below relates to the general teaching and examination periods at the University. Dates may differ for some programmes of study, especially for postgraduate and Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences programmes. For future University key dates see our almanac.

Page last updated: 17 July 2020

Academic year 2020 - 2021

Terms

  • Autumn term
    Monday 28 September to Friday 11 December 2020
  • Spring term
    Monday 11 January to Friday 26 March 2021
  • Summer term
    Monday 26 April to Friday 18 June 2021

Semesters*

  • Autumn semester
    Teaching begins: Monday 28 September 2020
    Teaching ends: Friday 11 December 2020
  • Spring semester
    Teaching begins: Monday 25 January 2021
    Teaching ends: Friday 7 May 2021

Introduction week

  • Monday 21 September to Sunday 27 September 2020
  • Leeds University Business School Welcome and Induction runs from Monday 14 September to Friday 25 September 2020

January 2021 arrival

  • Arrival date for students starting courses in January is 11 January 2021. Teaching start dates will vary by your course. Please also see our information for students about key dates during the January arrival period, including dates when the University will be closed.

Examinations

  • Autumn semester
    Monday 11 January to Friday 22 January 2021
  • Spring semester
    Monday 17 May to Friday 4 June 2021

Dates when the University will be closed

  • 21 December 2020 to 1 January 2021
  • 1 April (University closes at 12.30 pm) to 6 April 2021
  • 3 May 2021
  • 31 May to 1 June 2021
  • 30-31 August 2021
* Teaching dates apply to most but not all of the University's learning and teaching provision.